SWAT Awards

The Smart Water Application Technologies awards program recognizes water providers that are committed to promoting outdoor water conservation by increasing engagement, education and partnerships with important stakeholders.

Applications for the 2021 SWAT awards will be accepted June 1-July 16, 2021.


Cities, counties and utilities involved in programs that promote outdoor water conservation are eligible to apply. Eligible programs must be active or implemented after Jan. 1 of the year prior to the award year. Participation is open to IA members and nonmembers.

Award Categories

The SWAT committee will annually recognize water providers with awards in the following two categories.

Outstanding Industry Partnership Award

The Outstanding Industry Partnership Award recognizes water providers with programs focused on building partnerships with landscape professionals, irrigation contractors and other professionals with irrigation responsibilities to promote outdoor water conservation.

Apply now

Outstanding Public Engagement Award

The Outstanding Public Engagement Award recognizes water providers with programs focused on engaging and educating residential and/or commercial end users on smart and efficient technologies, best practices, and programs related to outdoor water conservation.  

Apply now

Important Dates & Information

The 2021 SWAT awards open for nomination on June 1. The deadline to submit an application is July 16. The SWAT awards will be presented during the WaterSmart Innovations conference held Oct. 6-7, 2021, in Las Vegas.

The SWAT committee uses a scoring rubric to evaluate applications. Applicants are encouraged to review this rubric and ensure that their application includes all required information. 

For more information about the SWAT awards,
contact government affairs (703.536.7080).