IA Times, November 2019

IA now accepting nominations for 2020 awards

The Irrigation Association is excited to announce that the nomination period is now open for the following Irrigation Association awards for 2020:

Established in 1966, the Industry Achievement Award recognizes an individual employed by or retired from an IA member company, or a current/retired technical member of the IA, whose career demonstrates outstanding contributions to the advancement of the irrigation industry and its products and programs. The nominee’s career ideally reflects contributions to a combination of industry products, practices, education, research and/or professionalism. The Industry Achievement Award is the highest honor given by the IA.

Submit Nomination

The Innovator Award honors individuals who have made significant, tangible contributions to the industry within the past five years. This might include the development of irrigation products and practices; the implementation of irrigation or water management policies and/or principles; or a significant, completed research project on behalf of their employer or in a volunteer role through the IA. Nominees should be individuals representing IA member organizations or technical members of the IA. 

Submit Nomination


The Vanguard Award honors an innovative project in the irrigation industry executed by a team of individuals, companies, organizations or other group entities. The team must include at least one individual who represents an IA member organization, and the project must have been completed in the past three years. Self-made and peer nominations are acceptable.

Apply Now

The Excellence in Education Award recognizes a person who is actively teaching or has formerly taught irrigation, water management and/or water conservation in affiliation with a two- or four-year institution. This person helps supply the irrigation industry with educated professionals who provide efficient irrigation solutions that protect water and the environment.

Submit Nomination

The IA awards program celebrates high-achieving IA members and projects that exemplify the spirit of promoting efficient irrigation.

Award nominations will be open until March 31, 2020. Winners will be announced on Tuesday, July 7, 2020, and will be formally recognized during the general session of the 2020 Irrigation Show and Education Week in San Antonio, Texas.

For more information about the awards, to nominate someone for an award or to apply for a Vanguard award, please visit the website.