Editorial Contact | Communications Department | 703.536.7080

Irrigation Association announces award winners

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA (Sept. 13, 2017)
— The Irrigation Association has announced the winners of its 2017 awards, which honor individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the irrigation industry. Award recipients will be recognized during the general session at the 2017 Irrigation Show and Education Conference, Nov. 6-10, in Orlando, Florida.

This year’s award recipients are listed below:

Industry Achievement Award: Clarence Prestwich, PE, CAIS, CID, USDA-NRCS – West National Technology Support Center (Portland, OR)

The Industry Achievement Award recognizes an individual employed by or retired from an irrigation-related organization whose career demonstrates outstanding contributions to the advancement of the irrigation industry and its products and programs.

National Water and Energy Conservation Award: Steve Loring, PhD, New Mexico State University (Las Cruces, NM) for his work on the USDA-NIFA Multistate Project W-3128, “Scaling Microirrigation Technologies to Address the Global Water Challenge”

The National Water and Energy Conservation Award honors significant achievement in the conservation of water and energy relating to irrigation procedures, equipment, methods and techniques.

NEW! Vanguard Award
Agriculture category: Employing Close-spaced LEPA Applicators
Landscape category: Revitalization of the National Mall

The Vanguard Award honors a team of individuals, companies, organizations or other group entities that have spearheaded or been involved with a completed and innovative installation project in the irrigation industry.

NEW! Innovator of the Year Award: Robert Starr and Mike Baron, The Toro Company, for their creation of The Water Zone radio program (Riverside, CA)

The Innovator of the Year Award is presented to individuals who have made significant, tangible contributions consistently to the industry and the Irrigation Association within the past five years.

Look for more detailed coverage about each award winner in upcoming editions of IA Times and Irrigation Today. For more information on IA’s award programs, click here.